The Virunga National Park covers 7,800-square-kilometre (3,000 sq mi) that stretch from the Virunga Mountains, the Rwenzori Mountains, and volcanoes National park up to the boarders of Democratic Republic of Congo and Rwanda.

Established in 1925, Virunga is Africa’s first national park and also a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1979. It is being managed by the Congolese National Park Authority, Institut Congolais pour la Conservation de la Nature (ICCN) and it’s also part with the Virunga Foundation.

This park was created to Protect Mountain gorillas living in the Virungas although it later expanded and included the Rwenzori Mountains and Lake Edward in the North. In the 1970s, Foreign investment came in and helped to improve the park’s infrastructure and other facilities.

This led to high visitors turn up thus Virunga a world Heritage site in 1979. In 2013, the World wide Fund got concerned that the park was about to be given up for oil exploitation and they launched a campaign to refrain the exploration from the area.

The park has an exceptional bio diversity with a lot of mammals, reptiles and bird species than any other protected area in the Albertine rift Valley and among these include the endangered mountain gorillas whose population has increased over the past few years.

Overall in the virunga, animals have increased in number such as the Okapi, mountain gorillas, low land gorillas, Buffaloes, giraffes and the endemic birds